Choosing the Award winner

The Jury consists of seven representatives from EU institutions, the private sector and NGOs, as well as the Rapporteur from the Evaluation Committee. The European Commission, in collaboration with the International Trade Centre, nominates the Jury. The members of the Jury serve on a voluntary basis; they do not receive any financial compensation for their contributions.

The Jury selects the winner and ‘Special Mentions’ from the shortlist provided by the Evaluation Committee. The Jury bases its decision on the content of the shortlisted applications, the evaluation reports from the Evaluation Committee, as well as the the presentations pitched by the cities via video-conference.

The Jury makes final decisions on the Award Winner and Special Mentions in a closed, non-public vote. It is expected that the Jury will arrive at their decisions via consensus.  However, if consensus cannot be reached, a voting method will be put in place.

The members of the 2018 Jury can be viewed here.

The EU Cities for Fair and Ethical Trade Award is an initiative of the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Trade implemented by the International Trade Centre.